This work is the first complete translation of the Morning and Evening Altar Recitations, 玄門早晚壇功課經 (Xuanmen zaowan tan gongke jing) also known as “The Gongke”. The Gongke is the collection of liturgical scriptures recited at the altar at every Quanzhen Daoist Temple. These recitations occur in the early morning and in the evening, and can be as simple as a sole chanter or as complicated as the entire body of resident monks and nuns. There can be a simple accompaniment of a wooden fish bell, or the ornate accompaniment of the Daoist orchestra. Whether simple or complex, at the heart of these performances is the text itself. The corpus of texts is a fascinating journey through Daoist doctrine and practice. Prayers of purification, hagiographies of special deities, prayers of commitment, cosmology, meditation, theory, and much more all converge in this collection. It can be said that this is a pocket sized or mini Daoist Canon. Josh and Jack set about translating this as a response to a deep need to connect to the tradition and the most common practices as experienced in daily life at the temples. As Daoism continues to take root in the West, it is becoming more mature in its presence. The relationship to lineages in China is becoming the new norm. As such, there is a need to align with those practices that describe traditional lineage Daoism. The Gongke, and its recitation, is one such defining text. By having access to the translation and the original Chinese and pinyin pronunciation (all provided in this book), the English speaking person can now engage and understand this practice and the textual depth and meaning within.


Nei Gong: The Authentic Classic (Nei Gong Zhen Chuan), is an obscure text of unknown origin, yet it stands alone as the definitive text on internal energy and the generation of internal power. Hand copied, and passed from teacher to student, it is one of the "secret transmissions" of Chinese martial arts.

Nei Gong: The Authentic Classic
is a practical manual on internal energy development and its fundamental importance in the martial arts and fa jin (emitting force). It draws heavily on Daoist meditation and alchemical practices which are said to promote health and longevity.

The text is divided into four sections:
1. Nei Gong Jing (Internal Energy Classic)
2. Na Gua Jing (Received Trigram Classic)
3. Shen Yun Jing (Transported Spirit Classic)
4. Di Long Jing (Earth Dragon Classic)

which are meant to be read in order. The reader is guided, step by step, through the details of Nei Gong practice, and in the Di Long Jing, its application to self-defense.

Translated by a team of experts, the text is accompanied by extensive footnotes and diagrams that clarify the more obscure passages which otherwise pre-suppose a knowledge of Daoist texts and imagery from the I-Ching (Book of Changes).

Appendices further explicate the relationship of Nei Gong: The Authentic Classic to the internal martial art Xing Yi Quan.